Chairperson, Board of Governors: Prof. (Retd.) Dr. Bhim Singh

Prof. (Retd.) Dr. Bhim Singh

Prof. (Retd.) Dr. Bhim Singh

Chairperson, Board of Governors
Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat
SERB National Science Chair and Emeritus Professor, IIT Delhi
Hauz Khas, New Delhi - 110 016

Chairperson, Board of Governors:
Professor Bhim Singh has received his B.E. (Electrical) from the University of Roorkee, India, in 1977 and his M. Tech. (Power Apparatus & Systems) and Ph.D. from the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India, in 1979 and 1983, respectively.

In 1983, he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Roorkee (Now IIT Roorkee), as a Lecturer. He became a Reader there in 1988. In December 1990, he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Delhi, India, as an Assistant Professor, where he has become an Associate Professor in 1994 and a Professor in 1997. Prof. Singh has been ABB Chair Professor from September 2007 to August 2012. Prof. Singh has been CEA Chair Professor from September 2012 to August 2017. He has been Head of Department of Electrical Engineering at IIT Delhi from July 2014 to August 2016. Prof. Singh has been Dean, Academics at IIT Delhi from August 2016 to August 2019. He has been JC Bose Fellow of DST, Government of India from December 2015 to June 2021. He has been CEA Chair Professor from January 2019 to June 2021. He is currently serving as a SERB National Science Chair and an Emeritus Professor at IIT Delhi since July 2021.

Professor Singh has guided 116 Ph.D. Dissertations, and 177 M.E./M.Tech./ M.S.(R) theses. He has filed 106 Patents. He has executed more than ninety sponsored and consultancy projects. He has co-authored a Text-Book on Power Quality: Power Quality Problems and Mitigation Techniques published by John Wiley & Sons Ltd. 2015.

His areas of interest include solar photovoltaic power generation, wind energy generation, solar water pumping, renewable energy-based charging stations, microgrids, energy efficient appliances, power quality, improved power quality converters, multi-pulse converters, electric vehicles, power electronics, electric machines, electric drives, computer aided design of electrical machines, flexible alternating transmission systems, and high voltage direct current systems.

Prof. Singh is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE), The Indian National Science Academy (FNA), The National Academy of Science, India (FNASc), The Indian Academy of Sciences, India (FASc), The World Academy of Sciences (FTWAS), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (FIEEE), the Institute of Engineering and Technology (FIET), Institution of Engineers (India) (FIE), and Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (FIETE) and a Life Member of the Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE), System Society of India (SSI), and National Institution of Quality and Reliability (NIQR).

Professor Singh is the recipient of International Kalpana Chawla Solar Award 2020, hosted by International Solar Alliance for his outstanding contributions in the fields of solar energy particularly for working towards developing solutions in the Solar Energy Sector to help create a sustainable and low-carbon world for generations to come. He is also recipient of INAE Outstanding Teacher Award 2020, IEEE IAS Outstanding Educator/Mentor Award 2020, Eminent Engineer Award-2020 from The Institution of Engineers (India), Delhi State Centre, Academic Excellence Award - National Power System Conference 2018, Inaugural IIT Delhi Faculty Life Time Achievement Award-2018, "Faculty Research Award as a Most Outstanding Researcher" in the field of Engineering-2018, IEEE PES Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award-2017, USA, Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award-2014 in field of Engineering including Energy & Aerospace, Khosla National Research Award of IIT Roorkee in the year 2013, PES Delhi Chapter Outstanding Engineer Award for the year 2006 and 18th Bimal K Bose Award of IETE in the field of Power Electronics in year 2001.

Professor Singh has been General Chair of 2006 IEEE International Conference on Power Electronics, Drives and Energy Systems (PEDES-2006), General Co-Chair of 2010 IEEE International Conference on Power Electronics, Drives and Energy Systems (PEDES-2010), 2015 IEEE International Conferences IEEE-INDICON-2015, IEEE-ICPS-2016, IEEE-ICPECA-2019, Honorary Chair of IEEE International Conferences: IEEE-SeFeT-2021, IEEE-SeFeT-2022, IEEE-IAS-GlobConHT-2023 and Patron of IEEE International Conferences: IEEE-IICPE-2018, IEEE- PIICON-2018, IEEE-PIICON-2020, IEEE-PIICON-2022, IEEE-IAS-GlobConPT-2022.

Prof. Singh has been Chair, PES-IAS Delhi Chapter for 2005-2010, (PES-IAS Delhi Chapter won Outstanding Chapter Award-2005 Large and High-Performance Chapter Award Every Year). Prof. Singh has been Chair, PELS-IES Delhi Chapter 2007-2010 and Founder Chair, PELS-IES Delhi Chapter. He has been Chair of IEEE Delhi Section for 2012-2014. Professor Singh has been Distinguished Lecturer (DL) of IEEE PES in Distinguish Lecturer Program w.e.f. 2005 for a decade.

Professor Singh has been Chairman, BOG (Board of Governors), Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal, from 3rd July 2018 for 3 Years. Professor Singh has been Non- official Independent Director, NTPC Limited, from 17th July 2018 for 3 Years. Professor Singh has been Chairman, All India GATE (Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering)-2006 and Organizing Chairman, All India JAM-2006 (Joint Admission Test to M. Sc. in IIT System)-2006.

Professor Singh has been Chairman of Indian Delegation on Smart Grid for Indo-UK workshop in UK in June 2012 for framing the policy of this joint research program. Professor Singh is an Expert Member of PAC of SERB-DST India for awarding research projects since 2012 and steering committee member of second and third phases of National Power Electronics Mission of MEITY (NAMPET).

Professor Singh has chaired more than hundred sessions in International and National Conferences and delivered more than three hundred invited lectures, seminars, talks and keynote addresses including several memorial lectures.

Professor Singh is a Faculty Mentor of Following Successful Start-Ups: M/S Quanteon Private-Limited, M/S HyperX Energy Private-Limited, M/S Intellicon Technologies Private-Limited, M/S Tadpole Projects Private-Limited, M/S Tsuyo Manufacturing Private-Limited.